OK.
So this post is just in time for Valentine's day. I will pretend it has not been almost two years since I last blogged. I have so much to tell you guys and I will start with this post.
Late last year or early this year (I can't remember when), I decided to check out my face book archive and to be completely honest, I felt shame initially. One post written on February 14, 2009 stood out like a sore thumb. You can read post here. I could not believe I had written in such a manner, abbreviating words such that they were incoherent, having the nerve to cuss on social media etc. I decided I was going to delete the post, but before that, I commented on the post saying something along the lines of '27 year old me is ashamed of 21 year old me'. A friend of mine read this comment and 'reprimanded' me. Basically she made me see things from another perspective. She told me not to be ashamed of my past but rather to be grateful for the woman I had turned out to be. This made a lot of sense and the feeling of shame disappeared and indeed I started to see massive progress I had made in my life. As a result of this, I thought of writing an update for that face book post and here it is........
25 THINGS ABOUT ME (SIX YEARS LATER)
1. I did not find this post hard to write. I just procrastinated a lot about writing it.
2.I am still Onyinyechi Adaku Uwakwemdike though I now have an English name which is 'Martha'. I took this name during my confirmation in November 2013. On the interwebs, I am known as Nikki.
3. I have not thought about being someone else in a very long time. I can say I have reached a point where I am comfortable with my flaws and shortcomings.... and my awesomeness :)
4.I can sing. I joined my church choir in 2011. Early this year, it finally dawned on me that I am called to sing and that is what I am going to do. Music makes me happy. I will be joining a professional chorale group very very soon. I am excited about this....my growth as a musician. Even though I am less keen on secular music, I still want to sing back up for John Legend and Asa.
5.I love music....just for emphasis sake :D
6.I still think Nigerian movies are crap. However, I have to give kudos to some of the folks in Nollywood who are TRYING to make sense now. 'The meeting' was nice.
7.I still love shoes but I am more a mid-heel kind of woman now. I love perfumes, scented candles and food too *hint**hint*.
8.I love to cook and I am such a foodie. My love for food has increased since I made a lifestyle change to be fit in 2010 (More on this in the future). I literally think of food every time though I also think about the healthiest way I can prepare meals.
9. I am making a conscious effort to smile more and be pleasant to people.
10.I don't think Snoop Dogg and Lil Wayne are hot any more. lmao!
11. My relationship with make up has been rocky. I loved getting dolled up six years ago for the wrong reason. I used it to cover up my insecurities. Then I went through a phase where I thought people should just love me just the way I am regardless, I refused to wear make up for more than a year. Now, I love how I can use make up to enhance my beauty. I also know I wouldn't need to hide my face behind a paper bag if I am not made up. Balance.
12.I love the colours green, dark blue (navy), white (for some weird reason) and black.
13.I still sweat on my nose,forehead and above my lips. No, I am not wicked.
14. As regards hair, I have had my hair in its natural state for 4 years now. I love it!
15.I still cry a lot. I am unapologetic about this. I cry to feel better.
16.I still love my family, I embarrass my mum with kisses and hugs. I am daddy's little woman now.
17. I am a cynical romantic.
18. I can not believe how calm I have learnt to be (on the outside) in the midst of commotion. My thoughts are still that of a drama queen though. However, I have learnt to just take it all to Jesus.
19.I love my friends. Yes, I do!!!! :P
20. I am so much better at public speaking and writing now.
21.I still don't know how to play an instrument. I should fix that.
22.I am a Queen's College old girl. I am thankful for my education there and the foundation it created for me. Do I miss it? No. I am still loyal though.
23.I love to hang out with friends but I love to hang out with myself more.
24.I don't have a best friend any more. I have friends who have become sisters. I need to acknowledge all others and not just one person.
25.I am very spiritual, and I wish every minute to be closer to God than I am.
EXTRAS:
26. I get irritated easily. I am rather outspoken and I don't know how to bottle up anger or any feelings for that matter.
27. I don't mind hugs now.
28.I am still a very competitive young woman. It is ridiculous! I went bowling with my friends last year and I sulked and almost cried because I lost. *soreloser*
29.I am just patiently waiting for my Adam/Isaac/Boaz/etc. I don't believe there's only one soul-mate for me or any of us *shrug*
30. It is irrelevant to update number 30. x_X
31. I am an introverted extrovert.....whatever that means.
32. I am learning to be less stubborn. I don't know how this is working out. I need feedback please.
33. As for ending up with an Ibo man or not, please give me a few more years to get back to you.
34.I am still waiting on people to answer number 34. Oya o!!!
35.I used to love orange caprisonne, I am a tea-holic now. I still like my golden morn.
36.I used be a mint sweetaholic. I have paid dearly with 3 teeth. Enough said.
37.I am a shopaholic. Yes! But I am glad I have learnt to save now and to resist the temptation to buy things I don't need
38. I don't mind being laughed at. Do it at your own risk when I am angry though.
39.I used to love playing pranks. Not so much now. Youthful exuberance where are you?
40.I still have this thing for clean feet. They are everything.
41.I have always wanted to make a difference in this world. I have started by helping people around me reach their goals the best way I can. I am happy to share my knowledge and experience with others. I hope that this blog will be one of the ways I can do this.
Phew!!! Done. I am pretty sure 35 year old me will cringe at this post but would later realise how much she has grown.
Happy Valentine's day.
Dear NikkiButterscotch
life journey blog......
Monday, 9 February 2015
Tuesday, 14 May 2013
......On daily moisturizing....
This morning Jc of The Natural Haven Bloom put up a post about daily moisturizing which sparked up this post. Now I have been through so many natural hair websites and you tube channels on this matter of moisturizing and it just seemed like everywhere I went everyone was talking about spritzing hair for moisture daily, some even say twice daily. Having been natural for 2 years and 2 months now, I have learnt that this doesn't work for my hair at all. I would spritz a perfect twist out and watch the definition disappear and my hair would shrink to nothingness and detangling would just be a chore, I would spritz my twists or braids (generally protective styles) daily and my hair would get frizzy and difficult to take down. I could go on and on with the instances, I am sure you guys get the point now.
I decided to go with the motto "moisturized hair starts from wash day".I started using a bentonite clay mix to shampoo, I got a good (deep) conditioner, leave-in conditioner and moisturizer (I stumbled on these through trial and error of course) and started using castor oil as my sealant. So I would shampoo first, condition, spray hair with leave-in conditioner, seal damp hair with castor oil and finally apply moisturizer. I put my hair in twists so it can stretch out and it would dry this way. Using this method, my hair would stay moisturized for 3 days and then I would use a moisturizer and castor oil to re-moisturize my situation till the next wash day (usually a week or 2 apart). This works for me.
Now I am not saying that this method would work for everyone just like I once thought the daily spritzing method would. The point of this post is: Please my sisters (especially naturalistas as we are the ones with major moisture problem) find out what works best for your hair, be it product, techniques, tools, hairstyles; one man's meat could be another man's poison. For your hair to thrive, you really need to be patient and listen to your hair.
Till next time loves remain blessed.
NIKKI!
I decided to go with the motto "moisturized hair starts from wash day".I started using a bentonite clay mix to shampoo, I got a good (deep) conditioner, leave-in conditioner and moisturizer (I stumbled on these through trial and error of course) and started using castor oil as my sealant. So I would shampoo first, condition, spray hair with leave-in conditioner, seal damp hair with castor oil and finally apply moisturizer. I put my hair in twists so it can stretch out and it would dry this way. Using this method, my hair would stay moisturized for 3 days and then I would use a moisturizer and castor oil to re-moisturize my situation till the next wash day (usually a week or 2 apart). This works for me.
Now I am not saying that this method would work for everyone just like I once thought the daily spritzing method would. The point of this post is: Please my sisters (especially naturalistas as we are the ones with major moisture problem) find out what works best for your hair, be it product, techniques, tools, hairstyles; one man's meat could be another man's poison. For your hair to thrive, you really need to be patient and listen to your hair.
Till next time loves remain blessed.
NIKKI!
Tuesday, 27 November 2012
welcome to my world-ish
I finally have a blog and I decided to take this blogging thing more...serious? lol. This blog was first created on the 4th of May 2012...something happened to the first 2 posts X_x, I decided to start afresh. I will be blogging about some of my life experiences and interests especially all things HAIR and FITNESS!
Enjoy.
Nikki.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

